Andrew Wright - Batterista

Andrew started on the drums while attending Radford University, where he formed the original rock band Several Species with Eric Davis [], who'd go on to join Long Stem Daisies. After Several Species split, he co-founded Selah, an Appalachian slopcore quartet in the vein of Archers of Loaf and Sugar. Selah' released two recordings, Here, Let's Pretend and In a Different World, Maybe, as well as some 4-track lo-fi recordings, are being re-mastered and some cuts will be available for download soon.

With Selah on the backburner, Andrew joined The Eric Davis Band, playing shows throughout the Shenandoah Valley along side bands like The Yams from Outer Space and Puddleduck. Upon returning to Washington, DC, he formed the brooding outfit Hooverville (now The Dullards) and had a few singles included on regional compilation releases.

After Hooverville, Andrew joined up with Sixty Acres, another band who's debut CD Banjos and Sunshine had already brought the band a a good amount of attention. Their follow-up, Good Ethel (Dren Records), with Andrew on drums and Andrew Grimm (Junestar) also in the band, garnered widespread attention and critical acclaim within the "no depression" music community. The disk could be heard throughout the world on alternative radio stations and programs and reached the Top Ten selling albums on Miles of Music. A cover of "Nine Times Blue" was also included on a Mike Nesmith tribute album.

An increasing interest in bluegrass (another form of hardcore) and jam music helped lead Andrew to ubiquitone after Sixty Acres dissolved. Andrew credits his experience in ubiquitone for what has been a period of advanced growth as a drummer and musician, adding forays into acid jazz and improvisation.

Andrew has been developing a new approach to the drums, working to remove physical conflicts and stress in playing…to achieve power and finesse through efficient use of energy. His influences include Todd Nance, John Bonham, Stewart Copeland, Jon Fishman, Ken Coomer, Billy Martin, Neil Peart, Stanton Moore, and Adam Deitch.